History of the Union World Conference

The first international conference on tuberculosis was held in 1867, well before the cause of TB was discovered by Prof Robert Koch in 1882. The Union traces its origins to these gatherings of experts from around the world who were determined to collaborate and find a common solution to "the White Plague" – tuberculosis. The International Union Against Tuberculosis (IUAT) was formed by 31 national lung associations at the first meeting after World War I, held in Paris in 1920. This is known as the Constitutional Conference. 







Dr Jeremiah Chakaya Muhwa 



Dr E Jane Carter


Cape Town

Dr E Jane Carter



Dr E Jane Carter

2013 Paris Dr E Jane Carter
2012 Kuala Lumpur Dr E Jane Carter
2011 Lille Dr S Bertel Squire
2010 Berlin Dr S Bertel Squire
2009  Cancun  Dr S Bertel Squire
2008 Paris Dr S Bertel Squire
2007 Cape Town Dr Asma El Sony
2006 Paris Dr Asma El Sony
2005 Paris Dr Asma El Sony
2004 Paris Dr Asma El Sony
2003 Paris Prof Anne Fanning
2002 Montreal Prof Anne Fanning
2001 Paris Prof Anne Fanning
2000 Florence Dr Kjell Bjartveit
1999 Madrid Dr Kjell Bjartveit
1998 Bangkok Dr Songkram Supcharoen
1997 Paris Dr Songkram Supcharoen
1996 Paris Dr Songkram Supcharoen
1995 Paris Dr Songkram Supcharoen
1994 Mainz Prof Rudolf Ferlinz
1990 Boston Mr James Swomley
1986 Singapore Dr N C Sen Gupta
1982 Buenos Aires Prof H Rodriguez Castells
1978 Brussels Prof A Gyselen
1975 Mexico Mr Miguel Jimenez
1973 Tokyo Mr T Shimatzu
1971 Moscow Prof V Chebanov
1969 New York Dr James E Perkins
1967 Amsterdam Prof Jan K Kraan
1965 Munich Prof Erich Schröder
1963 Rome Prof Attilio Omodei Zorini
1961 Toronto Dr G J Wherrett
1959 Istanbul Prof Ismail Tewfik Saglam
1957 New Delhi Dr P V Benjamin
1954 Madrid Prof A Crespo Alvarez
1952 Rio de Janeiro Prof Manoel de Abreu
1950 Copenhagen Prof K A Jensen
1937 Lisbon Dr Loro de Carvalho
1934 Warsaw Dr Eugenjusz Piestrzynski
1932 Amsterdam Prof Willelm Nolen
1930 Oslo Prof Théodor Frölich
1928 Rome Dr F A Piomarta
1926 Washington Dr Theobald Smith
1924 Lausanne Dr F Morin
1922 Brussels Dr E Dewez
1921 London Prof Robert Philip
1920 Paris IUAT Constitutional Conference